Reviews



Clean and hospitable. - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, delicious breakfast, and great welcome. The ideal b&b for a horrendous rugby weekend!

Reviewer:Richard A | Mon 10th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay. Lovely room, brilliant location. Very friendly and felt at home. Would definitely return. 5*

Reviewer:Mark W | Mon 3rd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Hilary made us feel at home. Very stylish and personal B&B!

Reviewer:Marvin B | Mon 3rd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Garden Room was beautiful!! - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay here. Hillary made us feel really welcome. The room was spotless and fresh. Great location too. Breakfast was as good as it gets also.

Reviewer:Tommy B | Mon 9th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Delightful Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just had a weekend stay with our daughter and her husband, it was delightful, a haven to come back to after a busy day in Edinburgh, comfy beds, superb linen and towels and first class breakfasts. So convenient for getting around on foot. Why stay in a large impersonal hotel when you can stay at Six Brunton place and feel a special guest. We will be back.

Reviewer:Taylor M | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


What a splendid place! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three nights in the Garden Room at 6 Brunton Place. The room was large and comfortable with all the amenities a traveller requires. Bedding, towels and toiletries were of excellent quality.We enjoyed three marvellous breakfasts, all cooked freshly to order with top quality ingredients - the black pudding was a revelation! Hilary our host and her staff were delightful and ensured we were well looked after and had an enjoyable stay.The location was ideal for us as we had travelled by car and were able to park close by on London Road;a 20 minute walk then found us on Princes Street.We would recommend a stay here without hesitation and should we find ourselves again in Edinburgh would return to stay at 6 Brunton Place.

Reviewer:Sheila K | Wed 6th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely place, great breakfasts - Rating 5/5

Stayed int he play fair room with my sister. Lovely room overlooking the garden. High quality bedding, comfortable bed. No wardrobe but a discrete clothes rail, the room would not accommodate a wardrobe.Nicely decorated room in keeping with the era of property. Good shower, nice toiletries.toilet flush a bit temperamental .Dining area comfortable whilst luxurious, complimentary glass of wine a bonus. I tried most options for breakfast all delicious, high quality produce, good size portions . Home made yogurt lovely. Hosts very welcoming.A lovely B&B .Location about 15 minutes walk into town, however there are plenty of buses that stop almost in front of the hotel. Would stay again

Reviewer:Jane R | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Six stars for six brunton place - Rating 5/5

Better than any hotel on every from hospitality, room, the bed and breakfast.????????????????????????

Reviewer:jeff p | Thu 10th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Beautiful place to stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely clean room, very attentive staff. Great location right in heart of Edinburgh. Great breakfast selection, good value for money. All the right touches you would expect from a top end B&B.

Reviewer:Peter W | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Susan - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Six Brunton Place in August 2019. My husband and I loved the location—an easy walk from the airport tram andmost sights, the eclectic, elegant decor, and excellent personalized breakfasts.

Reviewer:Susan F | Fri 23rd Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fabulous time! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here during the Festival 2019. Our host was very accommodating and relaxed. It was a great place to stay with an exceptional breakfast. I’d really recommend staying here!

Reviewer:Michelle D | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay and found a Hilary to be a welcoming and accommodating host. Breakfasts were excellent, being plentiful and of a high standard. One of our group requested kippers for breakfast, which weren’t on the menu, but these were provided. Our rooms were small but comfortable, although a little tired looking. The bathrooms were new and well fitted out. Altogether an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Pam S | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Exceptional Guest House - Rating 5/5

A beautiful Georgian guesthouse with high ceilings and elegant furniture. A quiet space in a lovely neighbourhood of Edinburgh and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile.We were warmly greeted on arrival by the guesthouse host Hilary and shown into a charming sitting room where we were offered a complimentary glass of wine at our convenience.We’d booked the Garden Room, a large twin room looking out onto a tranquil rear walled garden. We were thrilled with our very spacious elegant room which was also had a very large modern en-suite and a complimentary pod coffee machine and quality shortbread biscuits.The breakfast was superb with a wide array of berries, fruit and cooked foods. We also had incredibly fast WIFI, the speed not experienced in any accommodation we’d stayed in during our time in the UK or Europe.The host and staff were charming and respectful people and I’ll definitely stay at Six Brunton Place Guest House next time I’m in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Nova G | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fringeand Tattoo weekend - Rating 5/5

We Stayed here for two nights.The house, food and welcome were excellent. Well place for all the attractions, tattoo and the fringe. Looking forward to going back again in the future.

Reviewer:Andrew C | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Nice Victorian Home - Rating 5/5

The house was very well maintained and the garden was beautiful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The only problem was the very limited and meteted parking as we had rented a car.

Reviewer:Jeanie K | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

excellent hostdevisions breakfast

Reviewer:RITA M | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bed, good location and excellent breakfast. The room/bathroom was very clean and the accommodation overall had lots of character. Much better than your generic hotel accommodation.

Reviewer:Gregory P | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Great find - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with my son for one night. Perfect welcome, great room and wonderful breakfast. So much better than staying in a large impersonal hotel.

Reviewer:Philippa C | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


High Standards - Rating 4/5

Stayed for one night only. Lovely traditional house, really quiet and homely. Exceptional breakfast.

Reviewer:Elaine C | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Great place, quiet yet close to the City. Very comfortable, lovely breakfast and friendly host.

Reviewer:Alice F | Mon 20th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, very considerate hostess &tip-top breakfast!

Reviewer:Sarah F | Thu 16th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Homely and Comfortable - Rating 5/5

This place was truly remarkable and big thanks to our host Hilary who was so awesomeOur rooms were ready by 11am and our host was great in sharing all the little secrets of Edinburgh. Also as were vegetarians our breakfast had the veggie haggis.. must tryOur return flight meant we needed to leave by 6am, host was kind to leave packed breakfast for us as breakfast normally starts at 730 amOverall we will be back and stay here in future

Reviewer:Mahesh S | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Highly pleasing --wonderful aesthetics - Rating 5/5

Refined and delightful--relaxed in an enjoyable environment of high quality accouterments.

Reviewer:Ronald S | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Old world charm - Rating 5/5

The guest house is beautiful and very private. We stayed in the Playfair Room, which is lovely--elegant and old world charm. Our room, and the house have nice personal touches. Our hostess set out wine and beer in the evening, and our room was well-supplied with coffee, tea, and excellent short bread. The location seemed perfect for exploring Edinburgh.

Reviewer:M. Allison S | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely relaxed long weekend away so warm and friendly - Rating 5/5

What more can I say!! Right from the start we were made to feel welcome and Hilary went out of her way to make us get the most out of our stay with tops and recommendations of the area! The guesthouse was so lovely and the roomWas beautiful very cozy and clean and decorated! Thank you so much for a wonderful breakfast each morning also!! Thank you so much x

Reviewer:rebecca w | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Exceptional hospitality - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed exceptional hospitality in this beautiful, well-appointed facility during our stay.The bed was comfortable, and the en-suite bath was spacious and attractive.Hillary and her staff were most gracious and helpful.I would stay here again without reservation, and highly recommend this lodging.

Reviewer:Rebecca D | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

Hilary was extremely attentive, served a scrumptious breakfast and her home is exquisite. Idyllic setting and steps away from major sights.

Reviewer:Faith L | Mon 11th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at 6 Brunton Place in the heart of Edinburgh.Hilary was a wonderful host, the room fantastic and the breakfast sublime!!

Reviewer:Jeremy K | Thu 28th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Six Brunton Place Guest House is superbly situated to explore Edinburgh.My Garden Room was luxurious and quiet, and Hilary was gracious, attentive and informative to all my queries about where to go and what to see.Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Thorie H | Tue 12th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Schöner Aufenthalt- Rating 5/5

Unser Aufenthalt war sehr schön. Das Zimmer sehr sauber und geschmackvoll eingerichtet und es gab ein tolles Frühstück.

Reviewer:Svenja B | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Well situated, beautifully decorated accommodation- Rating 5/5

A comfortable, warm, clean, beautifully decorated property within walking distance of Holyrood Palace, Arthur’s Seat and The Royal Mile leading to the Cathedral and Castle.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Oliver R | Sun 20th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Beautiful room and garden - Rating 5/5

Hillary is a very nice person always here to help. The room was awsome, big and clean and warm and the breakfast was huge. About 20 minutes walking from the old down

Reviewer:Fanouris K | Mon 7th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


2 nights in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place, enjoyed every minute. Great breafast. Thank you very much. We will recommend your house to everyone we know!

Reviewer:Fabio M | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay here. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was great . Thank you for our enjoyable stay with you .

Reviewer:Damaris D | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Garden Room - Rating 5/5

Great location in the east end of the city &within easy walking distance of Playhouse theatre &Waverley train station.Hilary couldn't have been more welcoming &friendly, the garden room was huge, well appointed, very comfortable &extremely quiet. Breakfast was superb &parking was surprisingly easy (and cheap!).I will definitely be back!

Reviewer:| Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful House and wonderful breakfast! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night - beautiful room, comfortable bed and welcoming host. Breakfast was fresh and delicious with a tasty piece of haggis! Complimentary wine offered and was a great location for seeing the city.

Reviewer:Keily G | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Booked for one night and couldn't fault it. Beautiful guest house, stylish &comfortable room. Helpful &easy going proprietor. All very easy and relaxed. Will definitely book again.

Reviewer:Richard C | Sat 6th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


6 Brunton Place - Rating 4/5

Brunton Place is a lovely Guest House set in a very tastefully decorated and furnished Georgian house, it's in a good location for the City centre and train station etc.The owner is very nice and helpful, and the place has a lot of very nice little details that make it that bit more special. The breakfasts were very nice and comprehensive.The Bathrooms were fantastic, very high quality with good water pressure and plenty of hot water, shower gel, shampoo, towels etc.We stayed in the Courtyard Room on the lower ground floor, now we must be honest and say we found the room very small for two people, the room would be much better as a single room, I understand the Guest House has bigger rooms. Our room was also at the front of the building by the busy road, so we did find our room on the noisy side from traffic and passing pedestrians.If we were to stay there again I would ensure we had a bigger room at the back of the building.

Reviewer:Grahame P | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Gorgeous Place, Great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic place to stay. Really nice interiors and feels very luxurious.Very tasty homemade breakfast too.

Reviewer:Megan I | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Location and clean rooms - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 1 night and found the room clean, with everything that I required.The breakfast in the morning was delicious and they are very accommodating for those who have to leave early.Great location, as it was close to the train station.Safe area!

Reviewer:Heather T | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We truly enjoyed our stay in the garden roomClose to center city but just far enough away to be peacefulShould my travel plans in the future include Edinburgh this would be our first choice.

Reviewer:Ken S | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Amazing stay!- Rating 5/5

Fiona was fabulous, super flexible even though we got in late and had to leave early. She even packed my friend a breakfast to go in the am so she could eat it at the airport for her early flight! Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:Ms Michelle M | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Stunning Guest House in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Such beautiful accommodation in fabulous Edinburgh. We only had one night but wished we could stay longer. Accessible, every little touch provided, great breakfast &absolutely spotless and it felt like home.Hilary was such a lovely host to boot and highly recommend this B&B and exceeded our expectations.

Reviewer:Phillip R | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Six Brunton - Rating 4/5

Small room but the owner ( Hilary ) is a fantastic host. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Marshall Trevor D | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Very much enjoyed our stay. Location was great. Close to Holyrood. Buses, restaurants and pubs all within walking distance. Innkeeper was great. Helpful with getting around, places to eat, maps, etc. Room was nicely updated. Common sitting and dining room was very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy. Localy sourced friut, rolls,bread, jams. Cooked to order full breakfast if desired

Reviewer:Jackie J | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Claire S1912Reviewed 1 week ago via mobilePerfect stay!My partner booked this as a last minute getaway and we were both very impressed. Everything was of a high standard - check in, the room, the bed, the bathroom, the toiletries and last but not least the breakfast! We were in the Garden Room. Hilary was a great host and location was perfect for us as we had dinner booked in Leith. Would definitely recommend this place. Also to mention we were offered complementary wine from the sitting room which was a lovely added touch before we set out for dinner. Thanks again Hilary.Show lessStayed:July 2018, travelled as a couple

Reviewer:C | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Well Appointed - Rating 5/5

Tania MSouth Yarra, Australia3531Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobileGreat locationA very well appointed B&B with friendly hosts in a great location. The room we stayed in was large and sunny facing the garden, and was very quiet. The location is close to the city and an easy walk. Great breakfast. Well done.RespondThank Tania M

Reviewer:T | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Six Brunton Place and will certainly stay again next time we are in Edinburgh. It was great to be able to live so comfortably and so conveniently while exploring the city. Hilary made us extremely welcome. And our splendid breakfasts started each day in the best possible manner.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip S | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A great base in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We chose Brunton Place mainly because of the wonderful reviews written for Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.The Guest House had changed hands a few weeks before we arrived and we were just as satisfied with our stay as previous customers had been before the change of ownership.Our room was warm, comfortable and welcoming and had every facility we could have wished for. The breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and eggs cooked to perfection in whatever form they took!Hillary was very helpful and kind and our stay with her was delightful.We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

Reviewer:Frances O | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Perfect balance between modernity,tradition and wellbeing.One of the best breakfast I've ever had abroad.All details very well planned.

Reviewer:Mr. PEDRO S | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful accommodation and great location! - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the small double and found every detail well thought-out and first class.The vibe is a great modern take on Edinburgh and the areas that can be reached by walking offer a great mix of fun and entertainment.Great job!

Reviewer:Mr. H Scot L | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Top quality guest house in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Stayed at 6 Brunton Place on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there last year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Convenient location, lovely house and very friendly service. Top class!

Reviewer:Dr. John H | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Review of Six Brunton Place Guest House - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay, room lovely, breakfast delicious very friendly and helpful proprietor. I thoroughly recommend this B&B guest house.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pamela D | Wed 2nd Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Many thanks, this is our first time inEdinburgh and with the sun was spectacular. At that Six Brunton place guest house was a wonderful experience, Sue like a friend,always perfect many thanks again.

Reviewer:Mr. Annarita S | Wed 25th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Simply lovely! - Rating 5/5

My friend and I arrived at Six Brunton Place after 2 weeks traveling throughout Ireland. Arriving at Sue Thompson's Edinborough guesthouse was a delight. She greeted us with a wonderful smile and open arms, making us feel as if we were old friends returning from a long journey.Sue's guesthouse is a warm, cozy and well designed home with tall windows and wonderful art pieces throughout the house. The bedrooms are roomy and comfortable, and we had a wonderful nights rest. The bathroom's heated floors, spa bathtub and shower and perfect lighting was very relaxing after a long day of walking throughout the city.Breakfast was the best we had experienced. Smoked salmon and perfectly scrambled eggs. A traditional Scottish breakfast that included Haggis...and it was delicious..truly!Sue's eye in the design and complete renovation of this lovely period home, makes it the perfect haven for travelers. The wine in the evening, the offering of tea as we arrived, and the cookies and sweets in our room was a treat that we truly appreciated.Sue Thompson runs a guesthouse that, in my eyes, is perfect in every way. She wants her guests to be happy with their stay, and with us, made sure that we were in every aspect of our stay.Thank you Sue!

Reviewer:Mrs. KathleenZ | Fri 5th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Perfect mix of old and new - Rating 5/5

This place is outstanding! Sue has managed to take an old house with a lot of character and add some personal touches and updated bathrooms to make a truly unique experience. Believe the ads that say 5 star luxury, because it's true! Food was delicious and staff was super friendly all while in a great location (very walkable to downtown attractions).My only suggestion would be to update the front room since the couches were extremely warn out (and a bit dusty).

Reviewer:Mr. Alexander M | Mon 1st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

This place is really inversible. Everything is perfect. Sue welcome us as friends invited to have incredible days in Edinburgh. Very good room and breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr And Mrs Alain C | Mon 1st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Brilliant stay! - Rating 5/5

Thanks very much Sue for making my parent's stay and mine and my partner's so enjoyable. The rooms and the attention to detail were just brilliant and also greatly appreciate you posting back my partner's t-shirt! Thanks again and hope to be back soon.

Reviewer:Karoline R | Fri 21st Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

a lovely Bed and Breakfast!

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna K | Thu 20th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay. Wonderful breakfast and the room was fantastic. First time in Edinburgh and we would definitely come back to stay here.

Reviewer:Ms. Tiffany K | Wed 19th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Unforgettable stay - Rating 5/5

My fiancée and I stayed at this lovely B&B for four days. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Sue is a wonderful hostess and she catered beautifully for my fiancée's allergies. Nothing is too much trouble for Sue and Mike. The room was so spacious, we love the little touches such as home made flapjacks. Delicious! And special gluten and diary free biscuits that were very tasty.Thank you very much again, you made our stay!!

Reviewer:Marta S | Sat 15th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed in several B&B's during our two week visit to Scotland and this was definitely one of the best.Sue is a very welcoming and accomodating hostess and she has running a top notch bed and breakfast down to an art.The breakfast was exceptional, her cakes were to die for, the rooms are comfortable and even though in an old building, have all the modern amenities - even heated floors and lovely showers.I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Reviewer:Diane D | Wed 12th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

I can't say enough great things about Six Brunton Place.From the minute you walk in the door, Sue is there and makes you feel at home.The rooms and the common areas are clean and extremely nice.Great quality for the money you spend on it.We would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Allison C | Tue 4th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Awesome Experience - Rating 5/5

This was by far our favorite place to stay on our two week trip to the UK.Sue and her staff were awesome!I would recommend her place to anyone going to Edinburgh.The service and hospitality was fantastic! The breakfast selection was abundant and we really appreciated the vegetarian options.On top of all that the location was phenomenal.We even got to watch the start of the Edinburgh marathon on Sunday morning from the front porch.Thanks Sue!

Reviewer:Zachary S | Sun 2nd Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


6 Brunton Place Review - Rating 5/5

Excellent Guest House. Great location. Sue is very helpful with anything that you need. Breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend it, and would love to stay there again next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Shannon L | Fri 24th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Great House - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had 4 nights in the Garden Room at the end of a 4 week tour of Scotland including a week each in cottages on Skye and Lewis. Edinburgh, therefore, was a return to town houses and busy streets!No 6 is a magnificent old terrace house beautifully renovated by Sue. Three of the rooms, including ours are "below stairs"in the basement of a four storey house.My wife found the room rather dark although it does have a window looking out onto the garden. That said, however, the room is splendidly equipped with a beautiful bathroom including both a walk in shower and a large comfortable bath. The room is warm and has all the normal facilities including a comfortable sofa and an area with a small dining table and 4 chairs. The location is ideal,the Royal Mile/Princes Street being only a 15/20 minute walk away and a multitude of buses stop within a few yards of the front door.We had our car with us and were a little nervous about having to park it in the street. In practice, however, this was not in the least a problem and Sue refunded our parking charge anyway.Sue is a lovely host and the breakfasts are all you could wish for both in quality and quantity. My wife particularly enjoyed the lovely selection of fruit on offer.All in all a thoroughly enjoyable place to stay and explore Edinburgh from.We are happy to recommend it.

Reviewer:David B | Wed 22nd May 2013 | 6 years ago


Great experience - Rating 5/5

Sue at Six Brunton Place is a wonderful innkeeper.She was so helpful before and during our stay offering advice and making recommendations for restaurants and things to see.The Playfair room was very comfortable and had a lovely view of the garden.The location was great and within walking distance to the Royal Mile.Sue advised us on which bus to take to the Royal Botanic Garden.Six Brunton Place is in a beautifully restored Georgian space with very high ceilings.Sue combines this with her collection of modern paintings and the affect is very appealing.Hot and cold breakfast items were delicious and Sue accommodated our schedule.Wine and snacks were available in the afternoon in the parlor as well as coffee and tea supplies in our room. Bathroom facilities are modern and the supplied toiletries are good quality.If we were to return to Edinburgh, we would definitely want to stay there again.My only suggestion would be the addition of an alarm clock.

Reviewer:Mary W | Wed 15th May 2013 | 6 years ago


visit Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We had a warm welcome at Six Brunton Place. It has a very nice and luxurious interior. The host was very friendly and helpfull.

Reviewer:Mr. Robrecht W | Sun 5th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent Experience - Rating 5/5

We are experienced travelers, and this was one of our best B &B experiences.Sue, the proprietress, was extraordinarily attentive and friendly.The location is excellent for exploring Edinburgh.We highly recommend Six Brunton Place.

Reviewer:Mr. James G | Fri 3rd May 2013 | 6 years ago


Wonderful ! - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Six Brunton Place was definitely the best out of our 5 days in Scotland.Everything was perfect and I wish I could come back to Edinburgh to stay at this guest house again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jessica G | Tue 30th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

A brilliant find. Accommodation and service was simply outstanding and our hosts simply could not do enough for us. We will definitely be back next time we visit Edinburgh.

Reviewer:David S | Wed 24th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Special thanks for a wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Our visit to Edinburgh was really enjoyable also thanks to the first class service at Six Brunton Place.Staff were really gentle and helpful, place really beautiful. We would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Kenneth C | Wed 24th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Never in doubt - Rating 5/5

Our four night stay gave us the chance to test the No 1 position in Edinburgh which Six has achieved on Trip Advisor. All that we need to say is that the top spot is not in danger. Outstanding in all respects.

Reviewer:Michael F | Tue 23rd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Best B& B ever!! - Rating 5/5

I have been traveling through Paris, London and Edinburgh for the past few weeks.Six Brunton place was my favorite place where I stayed, none of the other hotels and bed &breakfast places could even come close.It was a charming hotel, very clean, great accommodations, and delicious breakfasts.Sue was a delightful person who was extremely helpful and made my stay a wonderful experience!Thank you Sue!!!

Reviewer:Ms. Linda L | Mon 22nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic Service - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Six Brunton Place. The service was fantastic from the personal welcome to the wonderful breakfast. The room was great and very comfortable not to mention the modern bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew M | Sat 20th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


All that was advertised and more - Rating 5/5

Just completed a 2-day stay at 6 Brunton Place. Due to lack of availability we stayed in a different room each night. Both rooms were excellent in all respects. We chose the full Scottish breakfast for the first day and oatmeal for the second day. Both meals were very well prepared, giving us a great start to each day. Sue Thomspon is a wonderful host and provided excellent advice on places to eat, things to see and do and how to use Edinburgh's bus system.Two very satisfied customers.

Reviewer:Mr. Howard P | Sat 20th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Made our weekend - Rating 5/5

Sue - thanks for an amazing weekend. Your house is absolutely beautiful, a real home from home, and you went out of your way to make sure our trip was perfect.Delicious breakfast, luxurious room and most of all a lovely, warm and charming hostess. Architecture's loss is the B&B industry's (and your guest's) gain.

Reviewer:Katie T | Mon 15th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

my wife and i booked a stay for 3 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we had a wonderful stay at 6 brunton place. sue the owner made us feel very welcome and at ease from the minute we got there and throughout our stay she killed us with kindness she is a genuinely very nice person nothing is too much trouble for her! we loved the house it is about 200 years old we love old historic houses like that ,its full of character and sue and mike have restored the place and gutted it from when they took it over as a guest house . they have obviously invested a lot of time and effort in to it. the breakfasts were fantastic couldnt find any fault with them at all. we stayed in the courtyard room at basement level at the front of the house. the room was immaculately clean and warmed at our arrival sue and mike are not skinflints ! when tsue found out on our second night that it was our 25th anniversary she was so disappointed that we had not already informed her ! sue gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne . we had a heavenly stay which we will have fond memories of for a long time. for the sceptics who think that surely it cant have been that good or maybe we've been bribed to give a rave review then if we were to try and think of a fault the only thing we can come up with is that in the courtyard room where we stayed there is a draft that comes through the window because they are older sash windows in character with the house but we used a towel to block the draft. the window requires double glazing and soundproofing for light sleepers as the traffic noise can be heard .( if i was sue and mike i would go to the extra expense of having the window replaced in the style to which the house is accustomed). but i would not let this mar our overall stay . i would grade it at 9.7 out of 10. we had an absolutely wonderful stay! there were are so many other acts of kindness and generosity from sue and help and advice in choosing the sights and restaurants that i would need another page. you must absolutely experience this guest house if you want to stay in edinburghbill and helen . stoke-on-trent

Reviewer:Mr. Bill J | Thu 11th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


best B&B ever - Rating 5/5

We were travelling with our children and their friends(14,14,17,17) and we all lovedSix Brunton Place,everything was perfect there,warm welcome, excellent breakfast,very nice and clean and comfortable rooms,Sue was very helpful in making reservations for dinner and had excellent tips,where to eat and what to do,we really felt at home!Thank you so much!

Reviewer:Bernward H | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Fabulous stay at 6 Brunton Place - Rating 5/5

By far the nicest place we stayed in during our two week trip around London and Scotland. Fabulous hostess, lovely room and bath, plenty of space for the three of us and amazing breakfast. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Ms. Leslie C | Sun 7th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Loved every minute!!We stayed as a group of 6 for my hen night so we had the whole place to ourselves which was great!!Sue was the perfect hostess and couldn't have done more for us! Nothing was too much trouble!The B&B itself was beatutiful and perfectly clean and tidy! The rooms were gorgeous, all en-suite with fantastic bathrooms!The complementory wine in the lounge and flapjacks in the rooms were all lovely little finishing touches as well! And the B&B was perfectly located!Would definitely recommend and I'm already looking in to coming back!Thank you!!!

Reviewer:Susannah W | Sat 6th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful Georgian home in a great location. Bathrooms were amazing. Beds very comfy. The hostess Sue was extremely helpful and a pleasure all around.

Reviewer:Mr. Scott D | Sat 6th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


What i expected and more - Rating 5/5

Myself and my daughter stayed at Brunton Place for two nights in March, we had a really lovely stay with Sue and (Max) We couldn't of asked for anything more, the host Sue works really hard to make sure you have everything you need, the guest house is very luxurious. Look no further this is the place to stay.

Reviewer:Liza H | Sun 24th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Made Our Trip - Rating 5/5

We stayed with Sue at Six Brunton Place about a week ago and had the most amazing time. During our time in Scotland we stayed at a few B&B’s, but Six Brunton Place was by far the best accommodation.During our stay it was extremely cold so it was a brilliant gesture when Sue welcomed us with freshly brewed coffee and delicious baked treats in the beautiful front room. Sue is extremely helpful in explaining where all the tourist attractions are and really makes you feel like you are staying with a friend rather than a B&B. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and I could see that a lot of effort went into the preparation. We stayed in the Regent room for our first night and it was a spacious beautiful room with a lovely bathroom that had both a luxury bath, shower, underfloor heating and a heated towel rack (just what we needed for the chilly evenings and mornings). It’s the little touches that make Six Brunton Place so special, from the complimentary wine, chocolates in the room, dressing gowns on your bed &gorgeous complimentary toiletries. Staying at Six Brunton Place will definitely make your trip!

Reviewer:Nicolette G | Fri 22nd Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely beautiful! Will be coming back. Sue is a wonderful host, and couldn't make you feel more welcome. We stayed in the garden room which had heaps of space and was totally luxurious. Child friendly - sue even offered our two year old son rubber duckies to use in the bath! Loved staying here, and wish we had longer.

Reviewer:Brooke C | Thu 21st Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

This is the best B&B we've been to in ANY country!Every detail has been thought about and executed to perfection.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mr And Mrs Todd F | Mon 18th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

This was our first time and it certainly won't be the last. A wonderful stay from beginning to end.Sue is a marvellous host, attentive but not intrusive.We were given a guided tour of the house before being taken to our gorgeous room. Lovely big comfy bed and a bathroom to die for! Lovely homebaked goodies to be had along with the tea, coffee etc.There was also an 'honour' bar with wine if you fancied, in the Dining/Lounge room.This was a lovely touch which we enjoyed after a lovely day out.Breakfast was a relative feast with a wonderful choice of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit and juices to start. Then a choice of hot food too. Difficult to decide what to have, but managed... Delicious fresh sourdough bread or toast to accompany.You can see why this is the NO. 1 Guest House in Edinburgh. First Class.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dawn E | Sun 17th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Excellent in every way - Rating 5/5

Did not disappoint - the perfect B&B experience!

Reviewer:Mary E | Sat 9th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Such a comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Opted for a guest house on our second visit to Edinburgh and stayed in this beautiful Georgian house. We stayed in the Regent room which was lovely and warm and comfortable with a Super king bed. An en-suite to die for with a fanastic rain shower, could have stayed in there for hours! All sheets and towels are from the White Company so real luxury. Lovely breakfast with all on offer which include cereals, fruit salad, freshly squeezed juices, ice water etc.. Full Scottish can be order and you won't be dissappointed. Other hot food can also be order and the smoke salmon with scrambled eggs is also delightful. Great coffee and tea. 5 Star accommodation for a fraction of hotel prices.

Reviewer:Andrew W | Mon 4th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


5 star and more! - Rating 5/5

From the moment I made the booking to stay at Six Brunton Place over a month ago I was so impressed by the incredibly accommodating and warm manner of the owner Sue. My stay there made my trip to Edinburgh even more fantastic. The room was 5star - very comfortable bed, fabulous bathroom with divine deep bath, and lots of extra luxury details such as bath robes, green and black chocolates, home made flapjacks,provision of DVD films to borrow..Every need and more catered for. As for the breakfast - utterly delicious!I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough and simply cant wait to return.

Reviewer:Tania A | Sun 3rd Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


doesn't get any better - Rating 5/5

Stayed in many 5 star hotels both in the uk and abroad. Sixbruntonplace matches if not surpasses. Welcome is warm. Rooms are beautiful. Attention to detail exceptional. I could not recommend any higher. Fabulous. A real gem x

Reviewer:Caroline W | Thu 28th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


High quality guest house - Rating 5/5

I stayed two nights with my teen age daughter. The bathroom was excellent;optimal water pressure in the shower! Even if the rrom was small, the bed was comfy and there was coffe, tea, chocolate and bisquits at no extra cost. The served breakfast was wery tasty;both the light and the Full Scottish! I would highly recommend staying in this guesthouse. Also, the landlady was very friendly and service minded.

Reviewer:Elizabeth K | Fri 22nd Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


Fabulous b and b - Rating 5/5

From the moment we walked through the door we were looked after!This is a super guesthouse in a convenient location for the city. Sue is incredibly helpful;nothing is too much trouble.We will definitely return!

Reviewer:Yvonne N | Thu 21st Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


OUTSTANDING! - Rating 5/5

OUTSTANDING B&B!!The location, decor, food, and services were all excellent and Sue was an informative, supportive proprietoress.The attention to detail eas noteworthy!We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here. I hope that we do see you again in the near future, perhaps with your grandson! With very best wishes, Sue

Reviewer:Gerry C | Tue 19th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


superb stay - Rating 5/5

This is a warm and inviting guest house. Sue and her family will do their utmost to be sure you are comfortably settled into quiet, clean, tastefully decorated rooms. You cannot do better at any price. Even Maxi, the quiet family dog, will make you welcome, but only if you ask to meet him. Go and enjoy. We plan to return soon.

Response

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you, and hope that we do see you again maybe in August next year. I hope that you are enjoying your time around Inverness. With very best wishes from us all, Sue

Reviewer:Mr. William B | Wed 13th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


The Garden Room - Rating 5/5

Excellent En Suite Room, Very Good Breakfast Our Stay Was Only One Night But Would Definitely Stay Again Hopefully For Longer

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay, I really hope that we do see you again in the near future. With very best wishes to you both, Sue

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Thu 7th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


Consistency - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit in under twelve months. On our first stay we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and quality of customer care. At this, our second visit, all of our initial impressions were confirmed and we are happily surprised at their ability to retain such a high and consistent standard. No.6 is a joy.

Response

It was so wonderful to see you again, and thanks so much for your kind comments, it means the world to us. We hope to see you again soon, With very best wishes to you both, Sue

Reviewer:Maria H | Thu 31st Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


quality - Rating 5/5

Excellent and beautiful. Highly recommended

Response

Dear Miriam, Thank you very much for your kind comments. With very best wishes for a great year ahead for you in 2013, Sue

Reviewer:Miriam Steinberg| Thu 31st Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks